Hall Of Fame History
The people of our state are as diverse as the landscape. It is the people of South Dakota, past, present and future, who are remembered and recognized by the South Dakota Hall of Fame. Individuals from all walks of life who have contributed in Agriculture, Arts & Entertainment, General, Historical, Professional & Sports.

The South Dakota Hall of Fame was established in 1974 to recognize and honor those individuals Championing a Culture of Excellence for all of South Dakota. The South Dakota Hall of Fame is a non-profit corporation composed of a full-time professional staff and a board of directors dedicated to developing the organization and who encourage support of the organization.
The original Hall of Fame was an overcrowded log cabin in Fort Pierre. The organization later later moved to a small office in downtown Chamberlain. On June 3, 2000, a 25-year dream was realized with a grand opening for the new 10,000-square-foot building in Chamberlain.



1974 Established
1976 Named the Cowboy and Western Heritage Hall of Fame (Oct. 29)
1975 to 1999 Quarterly magazines – Dakota West to South Dakota Heritage
to South Dakota Hall of Fame
1978 The first 120 individuals were inducted during the first annual Honors Ceremony
1986 Established as the South Dakota Hall of Fame (July 25)
1992 Relocation to Chamberlain
1993 $1.5 million building campaign launched
1996 Designated as official state Hall of Fame by legislature
2000 Grand opening of the new building during the Honors Ceremony (June 3)
South Dakota Hall of Fame Honors Ceremony Commemorative Magazine
2004 Endowment established and 30th Anniversary
2012 Mortgage paid
2014 40th Anniversary 
OscarHowe-no-shadow.jpg Laura_Ingalls_Wilder-no-shadow.jpg
George-McGovern-no-shadow.jpg Joanne-Bird-no-shadow.jpg
1480 S. Main - Chamberlain, SD 57325 - info@sdhalloffame.com - (605) 234-4216